By Joe Trost

When 1,000s of high school girls soccer players from across Chicago and Northern Illinois take the field on April 6 for Opening Day of the 2019 PepsiCo Showdown Series, college coaches from all over the Midwest will be shopping for future recruits at Olympic Park in Schaumburg.

In what has become an annual hotbed event for college recruiters, the popular setup enables colleges, fans and broadcast and print media to see talent from the city and suburbs, public and private schools and all different backgrounds and clubs at the same site on back-to-back weekends.

“The Showcase Saturdays of the PepsiCo Showdown provide college coaches with the opportunity to see a massive group of diverse players – D-I to community college prospects – from all over the Chicagoland area,” said Glenbard East coach Kent Overbey, whose program captured its first state trophy in 2016. “That makes the recruiting process a little easier for college coaches, and it’s also an enormous opportunity for players of all ages to make a name for themselves on the big stage.”    

While most players will be trying to catch the eye of a college recruiter, here are just some of the seniors who have committed and will be on display at the large spring showcase: Isabel Sanchez, Dominican University; Madeline Hernandez, Daley College; Courtney Chomko, Florida Southern University; Jackie Galvan, Rock Valley College; Sam Schutte, North Central College; Sarah Magnoni, South Illinois University; AC Hardy, Taylor University; Sophie Lindquist, Wheaton College; Lydia Sedjo, Grove City College; Rebecca Steininger, Grace College; Paige Miller, Northwestern University; Allie Anderson, Xavier University; Molly Fank, Augustana College; Maeve Sheridan, Augustana College; Fran Faraci, Florida University; Abbey Kramer, Augustana College; Nicolette Gossage, Northern Illinois University; Emily Weil, Duke University; Paige Forester, MIT; Abby Renaud, Northwestern University; Barbie Castellanos, Chicago State University; Haley Rich, Lakeland University; Yasmia Vela, South Suburban College; Siobhan Gallagher; Edgewood College; Sydney Downs, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Braidy Ceh Purdue University Northwest; Hannah Scholer, Lindenwood University; Yetzemany Solis, Judson University; Taylor Prerost, University of Southern Alabama; Abbi Burg, Eastern Michigan University; Mattie Brown, Millikin University; Emily DeVivo, Winona State University; Abby Wiegand, Clarke University; Maggie Rimer, Oakland University; Bridget Grady, Purdue University Northwest; Ashley Kuzlik, Columbia University; Angelina Rodriguez, University of St. Francis; Lindsey Novak, North Central College; Amy Chiero, Denison University; Sam Johnson, Elmhurst College; Tori Finklea, William Peace University; Kelly Tocheck, St. Norbert College; Serena Estrada, Bradley University; Madalyn Miller, Illinois State University; Leah Cavazos, Bradley University; Ailyn Gallardo, Loyola University; Veronica, Zaragoza, Moraine Valley College; Gisselle Gallegos, Moraine Valley College; Jocelyn Estrada, Moraine Valley College; Abby Callahan, Winona State University; Meghan Kirkwood, University of Wisconsin Whitewater; Ashley Jesionowski, Viterbo University; Nina Guitron, Monmouth College; Liz Brechtel, Southern Illinois University; Natalie Prena, Marian University; Tiana Etienne, Air Force; Katie Kearney, University of Wisconsin La Crosse; Baylee Vincent, University of Dubuque; Abigail McHugh, Northern Illinois University; Megan Sinnott, Purdue University Northwest; Kayla Llewellyn, University of Wisconsin Whitewater; Jolie Carl, Washington University; Jamie Stern, Clark University; Mina Gasson, University of Illinois; Caroline Hennessy, Illinois State University; Sam Dejulio, Southern Illinois University; Sara Loichinger, Olivet Nazarene University; Kylee Brandau, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh; Megan Shelton, Concordia University; Christina Majercak, Illinois Tech College; Kaylen Cooksey, Saint Xavier University; Kalie Rice, Trinity International University; Wendy Sosa, IUPUI; Alicia Hernandez, Barry University; Aridahi Ponce, Saint Xavier University; Jocelyn Reyes, Moraine Valley College; Megan Nemec, Loyola University; Megan O’Neill, Western Illinois University; Alex Dennis, Lewis University; Sam Koppers, Monmouth College; Irina Clausius, University of Illinois Springfield; and Allison Jensen, North Central College.

Joe Trost is the founder of the PepsiCo Showdown Series – the largest high school sports series in the U.S. – and award-winning reporter from the Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Tribune and